Approval of Work Hours
Overview
TimePunch allows supervisors to approve work hours. You can configure the system so that approval is required for all employees by default. Alternatively, this setting can be enabled or disabled individually for each employee.
Approval can take place during the current month or no later than the end of the previous month via the corresponding approval panel.
Settings
In the TimePunch Management settings, you can specify whether work time approval is required for all employees by default.

If the option "Request work time approval for employees" is enabled, this setting applies to all employees by default. If individual employees are to be exempted from this or assigned different settings, this can be configured directly in the respective employee profile.

The three-level dropdown menu has the following meanings:
- Checked box: No individual setting is applied. The global configuration applies.
- Checkmark: Work time approval is required for the employee.
- Unchecked box: Work time approval is not required for the employee.
Specify Approvers
By default, work times are approved by the employee’s direct manager. However, the responsible approver can be configured via the Self-Service module. Administrators and managers can specify there which person is authorized to approve an employee’s working hours.

Manual Approval of Working Hours
Work hours can be manually approved both within a given month and retroactively. To do this, use the corresponding search filter in the “Time entries” view to display all work hours that require approval.

You can then approve or reject the working hours via the context menu.

If a working hour entry is rejected, a reason for rejection must be provided. This reason is communicated to the employee via email and also saved in the time entry.
Approval via the Work Time Approval Panel
The Work Time Approval Panel displays all employees for whom the work times from the previous month have not yet been approved. If there are working hours that need to be approved, the approval icon turns red. The working hours approval icon displays a panel with a clock.

After selecting an employee, all unapproved work hours from the previous month are displayed.
Using the Approve or Reject buttons, all displayed work hours can be processed in a single step. Alternatively, individual entries can be specifically approved or rejected via the context menu.
Consequences After Approval
Working hours that have already been approved can no longer be changed directly by employees—even if they have the Employee in position of trust permission.
If a working hour that has already been approved needs to be changed, a new change request must be submitted. Administrators and employees with HR responsibilities can continue to edit work hours directly.
If work hours that have already been approved are subsequently changed, approval is required again afterward.